Scrappy Potholders WIP

Pieced Potholders

While my last scrappy project (and my last 2 quilts) isn’t finished, I’ve started another.  This one seems like it will have a better chance of getting finished, except that it is so much fun.  When my mother-in-law heard that I was going to make potholders for camp , she gave me some FQ leftovers to use, which saved me the trouble of choosing fabric and encouraged me to use up some other inherited scraps as well. I love that these can be different, but are clearly a coordinating set.  This is such a stress free way to test out new blocks and play with fabric, we may end up with an excess of potholders. These (shown above) are the five we need for camp, all pieced.

Wonky Star Potholder

Making wonky stars is so much fun.  Apart from the squares (2.5″ shown here) they can be made without cutting pieces to size.   That center scrape was a 2″ square that I found in a small bag of scraps I got with a fabric lot I bid on.  It tied the red/yellow/green fabrics together so well.  The background squares came from the same bag, and were a perfect fit as I don’t do much with muted yellows and browns normally, but there was just enough for this background.

Ribbons Potholder

Not my favorite potholder block, but quick and easy

If you are curious, the squares are 8 inches and two more leaves (for MIL) have been added to the quilting queue.  I will be linking this up for Scraptastic Tuesday, where you can get lots of fun scrappy ideas.

Scraptastic Tuesday

This entry was posted in Quilting, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scrappy Potholders WIP

  1. Thanks for hosting again. Seeing what people are up to is always fun.

  2. Nicky says:

    Thanks for the shout out! I’m sure your camp will run smoothly with all those potholders to replace the old ones. Thank you for linking up to #scraptastictuesday!

Leave a comment