Scrap Sorting and Storage

Window Scrap Baskets in Use

Window Scrap Baskets in Use

Today, I used up quite a few purple scraps from one of my window baskets. There are more window baskets than there used to be , but still Orange/Yellow, White, Dark Blue, and Brown are still waiting to join the rest.  Brown is cut, but I haven’t found the right fabric for the others yet.  You may notice if you compare them to my original post that I’ve turned them inside out and started changing the hanging tabs to white rather than black. This suits the aesthetic I want for the room far better and doesn’t require the color fabrics to match as much, while still allowing me to see to sort the fabrics .

Scraps Storage

 Window baskets have been great for storing color sorted fabric scraps, but some scraps are precut sizes and or shapes and they are better off in a box of their own.  This yardsale find has lots of spaces for different types of scraps and room in the lid for small projects and my scrappy quilts book.  Now I just need to get the rest of the cut scraps sorted and into here and a few more window baskets made.

This entry was posted in Organization, Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Scrap Sorting and Storage

  1. Thanks. I always enjoy #scraptastictuesday. There are so many inspiring projects.

  2. Nicky says:

    Clever scrap storage! Hope you get the others done so all your craps can be contained. Thanks for linking to #scraptastictuesday

  3. I was thrilled when I found it at a yardsale with some toy cars in it. It’s been great and sometimes I just open it up and finger through things and dream. It’s grey here too, which is why I’ve been reluctant to make up the rest of the baskets.

  4. Stephie says:

    I love your organising box, it’s perfect. Your window bags are a good idea too, but I like a lot of light and it’s very grey and dull here most of the time! Have fun sorting the rest of your scraps 🙂

Leave a comment