Presents for the Craftroom Part 2: Window Scrap Baskets

This week we are continuing my series Presents for the Craftroom with a second sewing project to help the creativity flow better and faster.  Part 1:  Pattern Weights was a tool to work faster Part 2 is for organization.

My craftroom isn’t tiny, unless you take into account the fact that it is also the guestroom and gift storing/wrapping room.  Oh yeah and it doesn’t have a closet, not even a small one or a single shelf.  So while I want my tools to help me save time they also need to help me save space.  Any time I can steal space from an unexpected place  I think, ” Yay,  I can have a guest room and a craft room AND use both.”  It makes me a little giddy and I want to giggle in an insane evil mastermind kind of way.

Usually this means looking at things in a new way like when I see an awesome set of scrap bins on Pinterest all neatly set on their shelves and awaiting years worth of scraps, then seeing another pin on window baskets.  The baskets are very simple.  While they might not hold years of scraps, I thought that I could probably make them large enough to hold my scraps (handily sorted by color) long enough to collect them until I decide what I’d like to do with them-3″ squares maybe, though hexies are calling.

Getting Started:

I had a lot of trouble selecting fabric so I decided to just get some of the colors I would need and see if I could get those baskets up and in use and then I would see what other colors I use a lot to determine what other color baskets I will need.  These are what I came up with.  For the size baskets I  increased the pattern size by 50% and need to cut rectangles that are 9″ x  23.5″ so I really only need a quarter of a yard (NOT a fat quarter) of fabric for each, provided they are cut well, but I could always decrease that to 8″ x 23.5″ if I wanted.

2014-09-19 001 2014-09-19 001

My prototype:

I would space the hanging tabs further out next time, but this is already working to hold small scraps of green.

Fenster Beutel

And the first 3 done.

2014-10-12 003 2014-10-12 001

(You may recognize this fabric as it the green is leftover from the Mei Tai Carrier I made earlier this summer.)

Other items in this series:

Intro ~ Pattern Weights~ Hanging File ~ Thread Catcher ~ Lavender Pouches (I am cheating on this last since I did them last year too.)

UPDATE:  This series will include two posts (at least) about items I didn’t make myself.  One on “Space/Organization Items” and One on “Tools”

This entry was posted in Crafts, Organization, Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Presents for the Craftroom Part 2: Window Scrap Baskets

  1. Pingback: Scrap Sorting and Storage | Logan Stitches

  2. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 5: Hanging File | Logan Stitches

  3. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 1-Pattern Weights | Logan Stitches

  4. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 5: Hanging File | Logan Stitches

  5. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 4: Things I didn’t make myself-Fancy Schmancy Tools | Logan's Stitching Blog

  6. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 3: Things I didn’t make my self-The Space | Logan's Stitching Blog

  7. Pingback: Upcoming | Logan's Stitching Blog

  8. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 1-Pattern Weights | Logan's Stitching Blog

  9. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom-Intro | Logan's Stitching Blog

Leave a Reply

