Vintage Finds: Button Gauge

button-gauge

Useful things.  Beautiful Useful Things.  That is how I think of vintage.  Another item from a batch of vintage things I picked up, this button gauge isn’t highly decorated or fancy, but somehow, to me, it is still beautiful.  About the size of a 3″x 5″ card it will help me use my button collection by helping to easily check the size of my buttons against the pattern requirements.  Sometimes I wonder if we still have these things in modern versions and occasionally the name of an item is so obvious I can Google it.  Button gauges do exist.  They seem to be rare, a bit costly for what they are and less succinct. It seems like a printable button gauge of this sort should be available somewhere.  Do you have a button gauge?  What vintage things have you found that seem so useful or more beautifully made, but are now practically unheard of?  A couple of my favorites are pockets on dresses (which have been making a comeback) and bra stays-those little ribbon and snap combos that help to keep both your bra straps and the shoulders of your dress in place.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Vintage, Vintage Finds. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment