Type A Craftroom: Planning and Dreaming

This is largely a sewing thing for me. For crochet and stitching I pick up a project and work it until it is done possibly starting another for some reason, but don’t plan out a million projects into the future.  I do have a Ravelry queue and a to-be-stitched folder. This is probably also because sewing is a priority because I’m remaking my wardrobe.

Dreaming

Pinterest boards for:

  • handmade wardrobe ideas-basically pinning patterns I think are interesting
  • crafting plans-patterns for an upcoming event like Kid’s Clothes Week/Selfish Sewing Week/Fall
  • links to inspiration and how-tos for projects (i.e. holiday gifts)

MOLDIV

This is an app that apparently does lots of things. I use it as a photo editor and collage maker.  It allows me to visually combine items like patterns, pattern options, notions, fabric, and yarn to give me a quick view of projects I’d like to make.  This can be done without first having purchased the patterns or materials.  Seasonal wardrobe planning is my favorite use of this, but I first used it to plan my sewing and crochet items for the 2016 Outfit Along.   This is also good for checking my color scheme as I build my wardrobe.

Keeping Track

Excel Spread Sheet

Eash season I start a new page of projects with columns to keep track of progress from getting fabric and tracing PDF’s to making alterations and doing finishing work. Some projects get made, some get moved to the new season, some get left for the next time the season comes around and some get left behind.  Being able to revisit this on occassion allows helps to keep my sewing on track. A free garment sewing planner sheet can be found in this old post.

Reminders

This standard issue app on my iPad and iPod is just a list making tool where I keep a list of the next few projects on my list (particularly items with a deadline).

Follow Up

Journal

I use a lined journal to keep track of my makes. Starting at the beginning of the journal, each pattern gets a page (or more) where I note what size I made and any alterations done for each project based on that pattern.  At the end of each project notes on changes for the next version are jotted down.  Starting at the back of the journal each pattern gets notes on fabric requirements.  This is helpful for patterns that have been graded, hacked or that have expansions.  For instance I’ve found 2 2/3 yds. of fabric is enough for an Appleton dress instead of the recommended 3 and a Maxi Washi dress needs 2 more yards of fabric than the regular version, though I’ve also noted how much fabric is needed for a Washi dress and a Washi top with different sleeve and collar options.  This way I don’t have to go back and forth between the Washi and Washi Expansion patterns figuring out the math again each time I make another version.

This entry was posted in Organization, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

