Me Made May 2017 Follow Up: Plans

 

IMG_1447

One of my best take aways from The Curated Closet has been that it is all about the details.  This feels like peeling away a layer of wallpaper to discover a door underneath.  Grasping the cool handle. Tugging until the door budges and discovering a set of stairs behind it leading to an open sunlight room, which is a blank palette and open workspace in which my new wardrobe will begin to form.  Like maybe starting anew, again, this season is a gift, which will allow me to sprint forward guilt free skipping so many errors, I would have made along the way.  Really understanding why I like a piece or an outfit, should have been obvious, but maybe I’m just too distracted or still too used to settling for what was available.  It feels like being able to treat sewing as an art again.  Like a painter returning to color and canvas after spending the summer earning money by panting a dozen white houses.  Now let’s hope that summer allows time for sewing.

Because starting over again each season is an ongoing thing, Alterations are back at the top of the list, again.   Nightlife, my Sewaholic Hollyburn, and my first Rosari are all waiting to be altered along with two dresses from my box of dresses.  Finally two thrifted blazers will find a place in my closet as soon as they undergo some small changes.  The first a deep purple velvet has three lines of shirring to give it waist definition.  Unfortunately, it doesn’t have enough room in the bust area.

IMG_1412

I’ve changed the exposure on this to make the lines more visible.

Removing the front portion of the uppermost line of shirring to provide that room is the plan, which is already underway.  The side on the right has had the top line of shirring released most of the way across, while the side on the left remains shirred.  The fit is better, but we’ll see once the rest of the shirring in gone.  There probably isn’t anything to do about the lines from where the shirring was, but they’d be visible with the shirring in too. Perhaps some nicer buttons to distract from it will help.  If it doesn’t work out well enough I can still use it as a starting point for design ideas and fitting for future blazers.

The second a burgundy corduroy blazer (top) is too large through the shoulders and sides.  The interior seams are nicely finished, but it isn’t lined, which is a plus in this case as it should make it easier to fit and take in.   I’ve never taken in a fitted top through the shoulders before (unless it was part of the fitting and muslining process).  Even if it doesn’t work, I’ll learn more about altering shoulders before I tackle Nightlife.

While not me-made, these will help me test styles and look for fit issues to be aware of while expanding my selection of toppers until I have just the right ingredients to make some blazers of my own.  Already I get the impression that I like blazers a little longer, with waist definition, well fitted shoulders, interesting texture and details.

This entry was posted in Clothing, Sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

