Bizarre Inspiration

img_9301

Where does inspiration come from?  Do you see a pattern and want to work it?  Does a particular stitch make your fingers itch?   Do you want a particular silhouette and hack patterns to create the garment you want?  Often while I’m working on something I enjoy, alternate versions or companion pieces occur to me.  This is how I ended up making 7 Washi dresses/tops.  When an apron was needed and a dress wasn’t they came together.  Lately,  my learning projects have inspired me in ways I would not have expected.  While working the Rosewood Manor Bargello Sampler, I am discovering that carpal tunnel makes working two handed to use the laying tool isn’t something I like.  The patterns are beautiful though, and I am reminded of a chair seat pattern I saw in a magazine once and sort of want to stitch it.  Mostly though, as Algerian eye stitches form beneath the needle, pulling holes in the cloth, I want to sew.  I want to put eye stitches in purple linen, or black and to see that linen become a dress.  As I think about those eye stitches shadow work calls to be the long considered nightgown or purse panel.  My hands begin to ache while translating yet another motif  and I long for the grapevine tablecloth with it’s simple stitches and changes and it’s ability to be worked in hand.  The labors of love call whether I will learn from them or not, whether they will be more or less beautiful.   Being held back by required work helps inspire me to reinvest myself in ongoing projects.

This entry was posted in Crafts, Embroidery, Sewing, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

