Soft as Night

img_0855-copy

Shawls Waiting for Yarn

This was my shawls to finish pile.  The gold (technically bronze) one was “finished” the day of an event, but is better now at a larger size.  It’s waiting to be blocked.  The dark blue shawl is done in a lovely mohair silk that feels divine.  The yarn is fingering or even light fingering due to its mohair content (the main strand is lace weight), which is called for in the Ink Night Pattern, but I ended up going from a D to an N hook to get even a fraction of the lacy look of the original. Blocking will likely help in that regard.

img_0850

The greenish-blue shawl is a gift for a friend that has greatly resisted being finished due to inexplicable difficulty in acquiring more yarn (I got a call yesterday to say it’s finally in).  It should have been ready mid-December (luckily it isn’t a holiday gift, but a tester shawl for someone who’s never worn one before.)  If it were just for me, I’d probably have ended it where it is, but another half skein should finish it nicely providing the best shawl experience and leaving me yarn to put a bit more lace edging on my Uluru Muscari .

Why more shawls?  If you’ve been with me for a while, you may be aware of The Shawl Collection, which I downsized recently.  As my wardrobe moves in a new direction, which includes colors that suit me better, I find that my accessories need to be updated as well.

My favorite wardrobe colors are waiting for muslins and then neutrals with mix and match potential before they get to take center stage.  There is currently a lot of black, grey and red with a few hints of blue and purple in my wardrobe.  I want to add more of those and some pink and maybe a touch of green.  Shawls are a place where I can add color and contrast now.  Oddly a shawl can often be made in a week or less (not all shawls, but some simple patterns), while the children are having their 30 min. before bed episode or finishing their breakfasts/lunches/dinners.  And there are no extra versions for fit issues.  If a dress would take 3 hours of sewing time.  It’s often an hour of adjustments and hour of cutting and 3 hours of muslining (I like wearable muslins) before I get to my hour of cutting and then my 3 hours of sewing for the desired dress.  If I want to make big changes I’ll likely make a second muslin.   Those hours don’t come during tv time.  With my inability to sit still and do nothing, diversifying my crafting allows me to have something to do whenever/wherever I can squeeze a bit of crafting in.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

