Faking It

Faking It Concord

Appleton.  Washington.  Concord.  Upton.  Springfield.  5 patterns so far have been brought to us by Jenny Rushmore of Cashmerette.  The Appleton is 5 stars all the way.  The Washington, I’m still on the fence about, color blocking and mixing wovens with knits…  Upton, may be another 5 star.  There are some beautiful versions out there and it’s a style I really like.  I’m curious to see what little tweaks Jenny has included to make this particularly curve friendly.  Springfield.  I’m seriously doubtful.  There are a lot of simple tank patterns out there, but those rear princess seams are intriguing.   All of that brings us to Concord.

This is a wearable muslin from a knit  that is a bit lighter than I would ideally use for a tee, but which was plentiful in my stash.  The shoulders and sleeves fit nicely.  Those telltale need an FBA wrinkles are not Jenny’s fault.  According to the pattern envelop.  I’m a 16 G/H bust and fall right between 14 and 16 for the waist and hips.  Seeing as  this was a first go round I started with a straight 16 G/H.  Crazy me, who finally decided wardrobe creation was a must because I couldn’t get a t-shirt to come near to fitting and still have it cover my belly button, decided to start with the longest length to try out the curved hem (which isn’t very curved).    Do you see that funny bump across the middle of me above?  That actually isn’t the waistband from my skirt, but rather the folded up excess fabric from the Concord.  I was trying to figure out who long I’d actually like it to be and if I feel it is worth hemming again.

Concord Tee

This is what the shirt actually looks like on me.  I can’t believe I got up at 4am to finish this.  It could be worn as a nightgown and if it were just a couple of inches longer  I wouldn’t even feel weird about it.  FYI:  I’m 5′ 6″

 Will I make this again?  Probably, but at a much shorter length with either a self drafted curved hem or the straight hem option with a lower scoop and it would be from a heavier fabric.  Rather than a light to medium fabric, I believe this would be best in either a medium or even a heavy fabric provided the heavier fabric had lots of stretch to it.

This entry was posted in Clothing, Sewing, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

