Bostonian Souvenirs

Mercer's

Postcards were once my souvenir of choice, that honor is given to sewing goodies and comic books these days.  It was a little sad to see how many seemingly fabulous sewing stores had gone out of business in Boston in the past several years, but a few gems remained to be found and explored.  I was thrilled to find out that Grey’s hadn’t disappeared just before our trip, but had transformed into Mercer’s.  The selection of lawns and of indie patterns was refreshing and welcome.  Carolyn of Diary of a Sewing Fanatic(http://sewingfantaticdiary.blogspot.com/) finally sold me on the Cashmerette Concord.  I’d always liked the curved waist and button sleeve detailing, but had been very disappointed in most of the versions I’d seen sewn up in light or very light weight knits.  The extra body of a medium weight knit really suits this pattern.  Carolyn Pajamas and some lovely lawn for another Akita.  Came home with me.

My other favorite store was Van’s.  I thought I’d get silk brocade for a Kurta for my son, but ended up with a pile of lovely drapey polyester chiffons, a poly suiting, poly linings and a couple of eyelets.  I’m not a big polyester an, but check out that blue fabric.  That is going to make an awesome dress.  The dark grey will be a liner for the red eyelet.

Van's Haul

This entry was posted in Clothing, Sewing, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

