Northern Lights Crocheted Cape

Northern Lights

My texture loving baby girl can’t pass  an  afghan.  Now she’ll have one to wear.  O picked out the shimmery multi-colored yarn for me as a birthday gift last year.

Northern Lights Sparkle

It’s from a local vendor and was a part of a limited run called Autumn Paintbox.  According to the pattern it would be just a little short of the requirement, but when it came to it, it was shorter than I wanted.  Limited run by a small vendor a year ago-nope no more to be had.  Luckily, the Black Friday sale at Craftsy had cascade fingering weight  in navy at an affordable price.  Expecting to have to rework things in stripes I decided to first test the navy in case it didn’t work at all.  I really liked the way it looked without stripes, probably more so when there was less of it, but somehow it kept getting longer and more afghan like.

Northern Lights Close UP

I feel like the result is a bit like the northern sky in winter-darkness with a little magic at the top.  Between A trying to steal it repeatedly as I was working and not wanting to let it go when I had her try it she might like it.

The pattern is Linda Permann’s Hooded Capelet Pattern which I also used for this cape back in 2012.

Cape

This entry was posted in Baby, Clothing, crochet, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Northern Lights Crocheted Cape

  1. This is so cool! I would’ve loved a cape like this when I was a kid. It looks so warm and snuggly too. 😀

Leave a Reply

