Seek and Avoid

Pink Polo Shirt

My Wishlist:

Girls’ dresses (particularly winter) that cover their butts.

Children’s clothes that are made of warm material rather than paper thin waffleweave long john knit/denim/fleece.

Pink-for boys

Not-Pink (or princess, or cupcake-I’m okay with butterflies and flowers) for girls.

Pink is probably a phase, but it makes O so happy. Even so, I can see in him an understanding that, as a boy, loving pink is desiring the forbidden.  A gets sparkly pink things all the time (not so much from her parents).  Girls are encouraged to go for pretty and frilly and shiny and texture rich items.  Boys aren’t.  He notices that those things aren’t offered to him in the same way-that it isn’t a default.  That when he picked out a Tinker Bell plushie at a yard sale everyone asked him if it was his baby sister’s doll.

Of course real men wear pink (and purple), but we don’t make it easy for them.  I considered all of the ways I could include pink in his wardrobe and toys this year and within the socially acceptable forms (a place to start) of pink wearing I came up with pajamas,

Pink Minion PJs

(that small bowl of yellow is the lace that I removed) bowties,

img_0145

and rugby/polo/button down shirts.  Unfortunately, finding a pink shirt in his size (5T) was a great deal harder than expected. I checked local stores and scoured the internet finding one (long sleeves were a must)-a $25 Tommy Hilfiger long-sleeved polo shirt.   There was an awesome navy and pink striped rugby shirt that didn’t come small enough.  I still covet that shirt for him.

$25 for something he might grow out of in a month-no thanks. O picked out the pink he wanted from the RIT dye recipes page.   A white long sleeved polo and  dye were acquired (Total $12).  Because there wasn’t a lot of wiggle room shade wise (“violet” is not the same as pink), this was strictly stovetop. I tried to figure out the weight to water to everything else ratio of the liquid vs. the powder general recipe and fit that together with the pink recipe, but ended up dumping in dye, testing it on a paper towel and stopping when I liked the result.  I cooked the shirt for 30 minutes, completely forgetting to add my premeasured salt.  BTW the RIT liquid dyes don’t stink like the powdered dyes.  At first the colors and seams weren’t dying as well as the rest of the shirt, but it looked good when it came out of the bath…and after a rinse…and after a wash…and after drying.  Success!  I can’t wait for him to wear it.

Do you have any other suggestions for pink loving boys?

Update:  I wrote this before gift opening time.  When O opened this he said “more clothes” and started looking for something to open.  This morning he came running downstairs wearing the shirt, “Mama I found a pink t-shirt in my drawer!  I looked at it.  Was it A’s?  It fit me so it’s mine.  It’s my pink shirt.”  Score!

This entry was posted in Clothing, Crafts, Dyeing, Holidays, kids, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

