Ocean Dark: a KCW Warm Up Ruffled Dress

Ocean Dark Crawling

A loves swimming and when she isn’t swimming she loves dragging around her two mermaid dolls so when I saw this fabric which reminds me of ocean waves I thought I’d make an ocean dress  for  my little mermaid.  I whipped up my second A-Line Baby Dress (Mamma Can Do It-Emma Collection) in no time.

This will be A’s dress for the rehearsal dinner next month.  I kept it super simple with no hem at the bottom or on the sleeves and I tucked the neck under and zigzagged it.  Without the collar the neckline was a bit large for A, but adding a couple of inverted pleats and some ribbon roses fixed that while also dressing it up a bit more.

Ocean Dark Roses

Pattern Note:

This one was a size larger than the first and it had the same problem with the sleeves being just a smidge shy of long enough to fit the shoulder seam.  It was closer on this dress than on the first dress, but it was still apparent  and I had to alter the side seams a bit to compensate (again).  In the future, I’ll cut sleeves a smidge wider.

 A’s Color Block Valentine Dress (shown left) was made during the winter KCW.

Valentine Pair 1

 Next week is the Spring 2015 KCW and I can’t wait.  Come join us.  Also, some great prizes are being given away on the KCW blog this week.

 

the spring 2015 KCW season!

 

 

This entry was posted in Baby, Clothing, Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ocean Dark: a KCW Warm Up Ruffled Dress

  1. Pingback: MMM Week 2 | Logan Stitches

  2. Alison says:

    I always covet that fabric when I see it, but I have no one to sew it up for. Yours is super cute (both the dress and the model!)

    • Logan Mack says:

      Isn’t it great when you find something you’ve often seen and adored and realize it’s budget friendly and you have a project for it? It doesn’t happen often to me, but when it does it just feels like the universe is giving me a special gift and it brightens up my whole day. Thanks for the complements and for reading.

Leave a Reply

