A Quick Blurb on Interfacing

Birthday Crown Interfacing

Have you ever completed a project, and then discovered the perfect tool for doing it easier/better/faster/sturdier? Interfacing used to be the tool that surprised me most often. As I branched out into different areas of sewing I discovered that interfacing is much more complicated than I ever knew.  I’m pretty comfortable with it these days, but there are still so many products available it is hard to know which would be best for the task at hand or what might be nearly as good.

These days I’m far more willing to look it up and find the right thing rather than just go with what I have.  That may be a product of having one stocking sized piece of heavy duty interfacing and a small bag of tiny scraps left of the supply my grandmother gave me.

interfacing

(This pile is actually bigger than my stash had become.)

I’ve been sewing more recently because small children are not conducive to large embroidery projects, spinning or anything that takes concentration (or lack of quick tiny grabby hands) for more than say 5 minutes.  It’s been great.  I’m not even sure why I didn’t sew more, except perhaps the lack of a dedicated space-zipping in to mend something in a few minutes is now possible, whereas before the mending piled up.  Sewing more means it’s easier and far more cost effective to buy interfacing bolts when there is a sale rather than small amounts as needed.  Now, I have a pretty good supply and only the occasional need for some specialty interfacing that isn’t on hand, but that also means I want to use what I have if I can.

You may be BFF’s with interfacing.  You may never have met.  Either way I thought you might find some quick reference charts useful as I did last time I needed to figure out what number so and so was and if I had something similar.

Pellon Blog offers several charts, which cover uses in apparel, quilting, embroidery, home décor and the use of fusible web adhesives.  These are a bit brief in description of projects, but thorough in description of available materials.  (I am covering Pellon as it is what I have seen most widely available in my region of the US).

Jo Ann Fabric has a nice chart that cross references fabric types, project types and interfacing types in a bit more detail.  This is nice for substituting what you have for what is recommended.

Do you have a go to for interfacing questions?  Which brand do you use?

(As usual I am paid only in hugs and kisses from the children, who care about the blog only when they can see themselves on it, and my opinions are my own.)

This entry was posted in Crafts, Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

