Presents for the Craftroom Part 5: Hanging File

Wall  Hanger Cover

      One more step toward an organized craftroom.

The clutter demon is hard to fight.  My work space constantly accumulates piles of patterns to be sorted and stored properly  and slips of paper with notes on projects.  A modified mail organizer could be used to collect all of those bits and it I planned for that as a nice final project for this series.  Only I have created a working system for storing sewing, quilting and applique patterns using a binder (which needs to become multiple binders) and I have a bulletin board to collect small notes on and there are still piles of things on my work table.  Add to that  a desk organizer  stolen repurposed from our library as a bookshelf to hold the sewing books I’ve recently been accumulating.  My workspace is still loaded with projects and fabric and yarn.

A thrifted media storage crate will hold my fat quarters freeing up space on the over the window shelves I recently added. The crate along with a third shelf are waiting to be painted and hung, but I talked my other half into setting a couple of saw horses up in our basement and will brave the cold, the damp dirt floor, the cobwebs, and-if my last cleaning out of fallen insulation, dead mice and snake skins is any indicated-less pleasant things to get this project done. (I hope.)  That leaves those piles of projects in progress, which are what the mail center should really hold and what it would probably not be strong enough or accessible enough to hold.  Luckily, kismet brought Andy Knowlton of A Bright Corner’s Valentine/Wall Pocket Tutorial across my screen at just before I made the mail organizer, which I had decided to move ahead as I rethought my thread catcher project.  I still have the extra components for the mail organizer and may put one together for the library or dining room in hopes of keeping the mail from accumulating on the dining room table, but this is perfect for project organization.

2014-11-25 001 2014-11-25 020

Each pocket is cloth only and attaches to the wall with a couple of ribbon loops that hook onto 3M hooks.  The hooks are a must for me since the wall next to the door is actually an old chimney, with a  metal sleeve that has proven impervious to tacks, nails and screws.

empty

and full

      Intro ~ Pattern Weights ~ Window Baskets~ Thread Catcher ~ Lavender Pouches ~ Stuff I didn’t make myself: Space/Organization ~ Stuff I didn’t make myself: Tools

This entry was posted in Crafts, Organization, Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Presents for the Craftroom Part 5: Hanging File

  1. Pingback: Stages of Creation | Logan Stitches

  2. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 6: Thread Catcher | Logan Stitches

  3. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom-Intro | Logan Stitches

  4. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 7: Lavender Pouches | Logan Stitches

  5. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 1-Pattern Weights | Logan Stitches

  6. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 2: Window Scrap Baskets | Logan Stitches

  7. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 3: Things I didn’t make my self-The Space | Logan Stitches

  8. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 4: Things I didn’t make myself-Fancy Schmancy Tools | Logan Stitches

  9. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 6: Thread Catcher | Logan Stitches

Leave a Reply

