My First Scrappy Project

Dear Santa Mugrug

This Dear Santa Mug Rug was finished a couple of weeks ago and I thought I would tell you a bit more about it.  It will be perfect for holding letters to Santa when the little ones are old enough to write them and was made of scraps from my second ever quilt.  Which was a holiday log cabin I did in an intro to quilting class at my local shop.  I’ve only been hoarding my scraps for about a year and a half now so these were a great rediscovery; kept, I’m sure, with thoughts of backing holiday ornaments.   If you look closely you can even see where I pieced the white background.  There wasn’t any time in the schedule for a trip to the fabric store so I worked and reworked the idea to fit what I had.  It’s a smidge smaller than the pattern calls for so that the background and backing scraps would suffice.    I was playing a FMQ on my home machine and I’ve only tried that twice, so the quilting is pretty ugly, but I have to practice somewhere and time is precious.  I’m counting on those future letters to cover it up.

I’d like to make another in blues and silvers with pine bough embroidery as I found a great silver Santa Plate at a local antique store, which has polished up nicely.  Thank you spray varnish for making it so I only have to do that once.

Santa Plate

The silver/blue/white might go better with the plate, but my decorations (not that I have many) are mostly red/green/white with gold accents.  The mug rug and plate would only be out for Santa’s cookies and carrots for the reindeer.  What do you think?  Should I make another or stick to this one?

Check out more scrappy projects on She Can Quilt’s  Scraptastic Tuesday

 Scraptastic Tuesday

This entry was posted in Crafts, Embroidery, Holidays, kids, Quilting, Stitchery, Stitching, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to My First Scrappy Project

  1. Kathy says:

    Great mug rug. I’m just starting to do FMQ myself I just have done my first quilt for a granddaughter and I agree with you you must practice and start somewhere. I like you mug rug and I think the blue silver idea is a good one. Thanks for sharing it.

    • Logan Mack says:

      Thanks, Kathy. I’m impressed that you are tackling a whole quilt. The blue and silver came from a fat quarter bundle I bought last year and then found shoved in a drawer this year as I was looking for my holiday scraps.

  2. Nicky says:

    Great way to use up scraps and practice FMQ! I’d be tempted to make more and share them with a few friends but maybe all the embroidery would wear me out!? A cute festive fabric would be ok though. I’m sure it will make Santa’s life easier! Thanks for linking up to #scraptastictuesday

    • Logan Mack says:

      Thanks, Nicky. The temptation to make more is very real for me too. I’m not sure how it can be, but most of my friends aren’t letters to Santa families. They live overseas where the traditions are different, celebrate other holidays, don’t have kids or have kids who have outgrown letters to Santa. I know a few are digital letter writers. I’m still trying to decide if I’ve missed anyone who might appreciate a Dear Santa mugrug. The embroidery was very quick. I did it while watching a TV show with the kids one evening. Thanks for hosting Scraptastic Tuesday. It’s very inspiring.

Leave a Reply

