Presents for the Craftroom Part 4: Things I didn’t make myself-Fancy Schmancy Tools

In my quest for a more functional and more fun craftroom I’ve been making a lot of changes.  Last year it was major furniture pieces.  This year it has been making tools, but it has also been buying tools when I find them for a steal or when they are just the tool for the job and will make my life easier.

The first item was from the steal category: the Accuquilt Go!  (Sorry no picture) I had seen it in a catalog and then dismissed as not going to be used enough to justify the $350 price. When I found it in a corner at a local sewing reuse shop bundled with enough cutting mats and dies to make it a $600 value and saw it was priced at only $100 I couldn’t pass it up.  I’ve only used it twice so far, making a bunch of felt stars and some knit stars, but I haven’t actually made any quilts from scratch since I got it so I expect that once I get back to quilt making I will find some more things to do with it.  I don’t know how much I’ll use it for HST’s and 2 1/2″ strips as it doesn’t use fabric as efficiently, but for applique flowers and stars and irregular shapes, which take lots of time to cut (even poorly) by hand I think this will be my go to.

Q-pins

2014-10-12 002 2014-10-12 007 When I was working on my hubby’s SeaQuilt (expect an update on this soon) I found Q-pins and they saved me so much time and so many mistakes, by helping me keep track of my blocks and rows as I put them together.   I’ve used them on two more quilts since.  If you aren’t familiar with these handy little items they are pins with flat heads that have numbers (1-20) on them.  They come in sets of 130.   Perhaps I’ll do a post on how I use them next time I have a quilt ready to put together.  I’d love to hear about how you use them if you have them or how you would use them if you do.  If you feel like sharing please leave a comment on this page.   If I do a post I may include your comment and link back to you.

 

2014-10-12 002 2014-10-12 002Clover Wonder Clips

In my post on pattern weights I mentioned that I don’t pin, but when it comes to binding I have been using binder clips.  I was in the store picking up some backing for a baby gift quilt and I decided to treat myself to some clover wonder clips since I would have two binding projects coming up in short order.  So I’ve used them and I have to say they exist for a reason.  They go on and off much easier than binder clips, which are often a two-handed operation.  So easily in fact that my 3 year old gets to help me with them.  They also take up a about half the space.

Intro ~ Pattern Weights ~ Window Baskets~ Hanging File ~ Thread Catcher ~ Lavender Pouches ~ Stuff I didn’t make myself: Space/Organization

This entry was posted in Crafts, Felt, Organization, Quilting, Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Presents for the Craftroom Part 4: Things I didn’t make myself-Fancy Schmancy Tools

  1. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 6: Thread Catcher | Logan Stitches

  2. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 7: Lavender Pouches | Logan Stitches

  3. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 6: Thread Catcher | Logan Stitches

  4. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 5: Hanging File | Logan Stitches

  5. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 3: Things I didn’t make my self-The Space | Logan's Stitching Blog

  6. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 1-Pattern Weights | Logan's Stitching Blog

  7. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 2: Window Scrap Baskets | Logan's Stitching Blog

  8. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom-Intro | Logan's Stitching Blog

Leave a Reply

