Presents for the Craftroom Part 3: Things I didn’t make my self-The Space

As I have been doing a lot more quilting recently and intend to do more yet  (I’ve got 3 more projects all kitted up.)  I’ve been contemplating design walls.  In a 2010 post by Katie at Sew Katie Did  she talks about layering premade design walls (the premade part is optional).  Explaining how to hang them so that you could have 2 layered in order to have more than one project up and so that they could be rolled out of sight and it felt perfect for where I am now.   Her idea is awesome, super functional and not going clutter the craftroom or break the bank.  If you are thinking about design walls you should check it out.

2014-10-12 003 2014-10-12 002

I can’t wait to get it set up.   I’ll be able cut when I can and keep my pieces organized and my cutting space clear for cutting for smaller projects which always pop up demanding attention now as I’m working on a quilt.

My final big change is shelving.  I got some (more) antique buttons at auction this year. I will have lots of use for them when I’m making baby clothes and need to be able to find what I want, so I organized them and am storing them in a combination of mason jars and baby food jars (the redesigned Beechnut jars are just so cute).

2014-10-12 002 2014-10-12 003

I needed a place to display/store the jars so I decided on some  wall shelves that could be hung near the top of the room.  These were only available online.  I’m not going to post where, because they were a bit of a fiasco.  They are inexpensive and will be painted so I don’t much care about how they look bare.  Unfortunately, I was supposed to have 2 long plain shelves and then one long one with pegs to hang hangers and clothes to be mended or altered on .  The latter could double as towel or coat hooks when we have guests staying in the room (if I ever get it clean enough for that again).  Unfortunately when they were packaged they sent one long, one pegged and one short shelf.  So good bye free shipping as I have to travel an hour to the next state to my “local” store or the “local” UPS to arrange a return and then have to place the order again and pay half the price of a shelf to have just one shipped. Grr!  So not quick and easy or as cheap as desired, but they should hold my buttons and probably some spools of elastic and a few other things I will no longer have to dig out of drawers when I want them.

shelves

Here they are on the floor in the hallway.  I’ll probably post another shot when I get them painted and up on the walls holding button jars.

 Knife Scissors Bar

2014-10-12 002 2014-10-12 006

My scissors have lived in drawers, but they are coming out to play.  I have more pairs than are shown here, but these are the ones I use most for quilting and sewing.  Now I won’t have to be turning from my machine to my table and back to riffle through drawers.  They will all be in an easy to find easy to put back (so they don’t get knocked on the floor) place.

Other items in this series:

Intro ~ Pattern Weights ~ Window Baskets ~ Hanging File ~ Thread Catcher ~ Lavender PouchesStuff I didn’t make myself: Tools

This entry was posted in Crafts, Organization, Quilting, Sewing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Presents for the Craftroom Part 3: Things I didn’t make my self-The Space

  1. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 6: Thread Catcher | Logan Stitches

  2. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 7: Lavender Pouches | Logan Stitches

  3. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 6: Thread Catcher | Logan Stitches

  4. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 5: Hanging File | Logan Stitches

  5. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 1-Pattern Weights | Logan's Stitching Blog

  6. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 2: Window Scrap Baskets | Logan's Stitching Blog

  7. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom-Intro | Logan's Stitching Blog

  8. Pingback: Presents for the Craftroom Part 4: Things I didn’t make myself-Fancy Schmancy Tools | Logan's Stitching Blog

Leave a Reply

