Bee Love

I recently organized a trip to our local apiary for my son and some other little ones.  It was way cooler than the school trip, which I remember, to another apiary.   We got to see a lot of bee products and learn about how they were processed.  We tasted several varieties of tasty honey and we were told a lot about bees.  One of the things we learned about was bee engineering.  Bee honeycombs aren’t just very efficient hexagons, they also build those hexagons on a slight incline to keep the honey in.  Such smart creatures.  As if honey and bees weren’t cool enough.

It all started with The Beekeeper’s Quilt by tiny Owl Knits.  I fell in love with those hexipuffs.  Unfortunately my knitting skills are almost non-existent and every time I try to learn I get thrown off course somehow.  Then I found The Apiary Puff by Valerie Lawson.  She too had looked and loved, only she had the time and inspiration to do something about it and the generosity to share.

After my son was born I really learned how to crochet.  Good-bye single crochet and double, no corners please.  Hello, World.  Thank you Youtube, Ravelry and Pinterest in that order.  In the last year I have been learning more and more about quilting.  (More about those projects as soon as I get pictures together.)  For now my Quiltghan.

First Hexi Puff

That’s right it was 1 and 1/4 hexis in size when this photo was taken.  It has grown and is now 1 and 1/2 hexis big.  I’ve figured out that it should be done in maybe ten years if I don’t find a way to speed things up.  Hmm.

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

