Sea Quilt Pattern and WIP

 

Well, I’ve been doing more early morning sewing and the blocks for my Sea Quilt are done.  (Except for one,  my early morning sewing doesn’t always give me the most even seams so I had to scrap part of one of my strip sets). I’ve done the layout and have pieced half of the rows.  Hubby was finally excited about the quilt when he learned that I was trying to fulfill his desire to have a blanket to swim in the way our little ones can.  Layout covered most of the living room floor.

So far I’m pleased with the results.   Pleased enough that I will share my Sea Quilt Pattern/Tutorial.  Keep in mind I haven’t even cut the borders yet, but I will let you know if I encounter any difficulties and will update the pattern/tutorial accordingly.

Inspiration Quilt

Sea Quilt Inspiration via Flickr

 

My husband wanted a blue quilt (Yay! my favorite color.) I looked around and found this quilt on Pinterest via flickr  (the link is broken so I can’t give you more info.) . It   is    so    gorgeous.  A simple pattern turned into a relaxing seascape. I just had to try to recreate it.  

 

Here goes- 

Notes: all yardages assumes a 43” width, all seams are sewn at ¼”

Quilt Dimensions: post and rail portion: 78.5” x 90”, post and rail with borders (before binding): 88” x 100”

 

Purchase:

8 1/3 yds for backing piecing lengthwise OR 7 1/3yds for backing piecing widthwise OR 2 ½ yds of 108” width backing material.

3/8 yd for border 1

1 1/4 yd for border 2

1/8 yd for corner fabric

1 1/4 yd (same as border 1) for binding

For Main Body of Quilt:

Either:

2/3 yd each of 11 different colors in variations from pale to dark blue, including some teal and purple can create additional depth. Try to keep the number of dark/medium/light roughly even. Circles and waves or other abstract prints might work best. One way prints should be avoided and geo-metric designs should only be used with caution.

OR: 3-40 strip jellyrolls (make certain these are cut at 2.5”).

Cut:

Border 1: for a 1” border cut 9 strips at 1.5”

Border 2: for a 4” border cut 10 strips at 4.5”

Corner Fabric: 4-4” corner squares, cut 4 squares at 4.5”

Binding: straight grain binding for binding with mitered corners, cut 11 strips or 416” at 4”

Strips for Post and Rail: 9 strips of each color at 2.5”

Sort:

Sort colors in order of darkest to lightest shades. You will be sewing sets of 3 strips together. Sort strip sets in threes matching into sets of darks, darks and mediums, mediums, mediums and lights, and lights. You will be making 33 sets. (I found having a few more medium sets than dark or light helped when it came time for layout.)

Sew:

Sew strip sets together lengthwise (using 1/4” seam allowance) alternating direction of sewing by beginning at the opposite end each time you add a strip.

Cut:

Cut sewn strip sets to 6.5” x 6.5” blocks. 6 blocks per strip set.

The main area (post and rail section) will be 15 blocks by 13 blocks (90” by 78”) or 195 blocks total.

Assemble:

Arrange blocks in rows of 15 (or 13 if unlike me you like your quilt longer rather than wider) starting with a light row and toward medium and finally dark rows. I found that if I treated it like a puzzle and did a layout of the lightest and darkest rows then connected down one side I could work from both ends leaving all of my mediums in the middle with a bit of wiggle room for how to lay them out.) A layout wall is wonderful for this, but anywhere that you can set them all out and then take a few steps back to look at them will allow you to decide on final placement.

Carefully gather pieces keeping them in order by row (15 piles of 13 each).

Sew the blocks into rows.

Then sew the rows together to form the main body of the quilt. Here again alternating the direction of your seams will help to keep your quilt straight.

Piece border strips for both borders to create to side borders at 100.5” and 2 top/bottom borders at 88.5”. Sew border 1 to border 2. Alternatively, you can create long border strips, by sewing border 1 and border 2 strips together first and then cut 2 at 100.5” and 2 at 88.5”.

Sew corner blocks to ends of top/bottom (shorter) border strip pairs.

Sew side borders to main quilt.

Sew top and bottom borders with attached corners to quilt.

Back, Quilt, and Bind. The inspiration quilt uses charm tacks on border two and wavy lines, which break up all of the straight lines for the main body of the quilt to further add to the impression of water.

See the  PDF Version of the Sea Quilt Tutorial for a sample Fabric Guide.

 

This is my first quilting pattern/Tutorial and my limited stitching time hasn’t allowed me to take many pictures, but I will try to add a few.  I may try to do some breakdowns (or formulas) for smaller sizes once I complete the quilt.  Feedback is welcome and I’d love to add a pic of any quilts made using this.   I could sea a red orange yellow version of this post and rail with vertical curved quilting done as a fire quilt.

If this works out well and gets any interest I will see about working up a pattern for the baby quilt I made for A as a few people have asked if there was one.

This entry was posted in Crafts, Quilting, Sewing, Tutorials. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sea Quilt Pattern and WIP

  1. Pingback: Sea Quilt Top | Logan's Stitching Blog

Leave a Reply

